Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2017, 03:59 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Edge softness of Theta V - normal?

I got myself a Theta V and I am quite satisfied with its overall possibilities and features - but I'm also, as I'm new to this type of camera, a bit anxious about getting a "normal" specimen of that most interesting camera. Major gripe is that the image quality deteriorates massively at the edges of the camera, even with the newest firmware 1.10.1 dating from Oct. 24th installed. I'm okay with that performance if that is to be expected - and if I read the in-depth review of the Theta S on this site I reckon it really could be so ...

So here's the the complete spherical pic that is my reference:
Ricoh Theta 360 Image

And here the region of it that bothers me:

Of course there's an equally soft region 180 degrees on the other side, but I guess needn't show it here.

So all I want to know is: Is this performance normal? I can live with it and position the camera accordingly - but if it's not normal I'll return the copy I have to get a better one.

Thanks very much on every input on this!

Phil

11-05-2017, 05:12 AM   #2

Original Poster
I did some thorough testing and found out that the problem manifests itself only in one region of the stitched seam. On the other side - 180 degrees around, so to speak - the seam doesn't show an unsharpness that pronounced.

In live spherical view the problem is also clearly visible, and only at one side of the seam. Reason is quite obviously a misaligned lens on one side of the camera. I'll get another copy next week and hopefully with this one the lenses are both aligned as they should.
11-05-2017, 05:26 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yup, it definitely shouldn't be this way. Not sure if it's still a software issue or a physical misalignment, but more likely the latter so hopefully the second body fixes this. Let us know!

Adam