Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2019, 11:27 AM   #1

New Theta Z1 owner with questions

Hi there, been several years since I sought help here. Last time I was contemplating a 645Z purchase. This site was very helpful back then. Hopefully there is a forum member out there using and making money with this new Theta Z1 camera that can help me.

Just received my Ricoh Theta Z1 from B&H. Ordered it roughly 3 months ago. I'm guessing Ricoh can't make these Theta Z1's fast enough.

I bought this camera specifically to shoot still 360 images of interior spaces(construction, cars etc) based on reviews I read from people that were connected enough to get their hands on one when Ricoh introduced the camera. Problem with most of the reviewers is they assume the viewer/reader has 360VR experience. While I'm a seasoned professional with roughly 40 years in the biz, I have ZERO experience with 360VR so some of my questions will probably be "dumb" to some reading this.

Recently, I missed out on a job because I didn't offer 360VR images in addition to normal still photography. Time to add it to my tool kit so that doesn't happen again. All I have done so far is make a few captures using the iPhone Theta app and transferring the photos to the phone.

Here goes with the questions that I haven't been able to answer by reading the Ricoh literature and website.

1. Is there specific software that my customers will need to imbed into their website in order for viewers to interact with the photos? If so, what is it? I want viewers to be able to navigate through the photo by dragging their mouse.