Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 27 Likes Search this Thread
05-10-2021, 02:00 PM   #31
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by luftfluss Quote
If the 70-210/4 is good enough for the Pentax label, then reviewers should be allowed to use it for AF tests.
There's no entity allowing (or denying) lenses to use for AF tests
But if the micro-flutter issue is real (and I have no reason to doubt Carl on this), this lens is a poor choice for testing AF-C. It seems, poorer than slow focusing lenses like the DA* 60-250.
It makes me wonder if this wasn't why the K-3iii didn't reach the D500's hit rate, for DPReviewTV.

OTOH I have no experience with the Tamron-made D FA (nor with the Tamron-branded versions); and only now I hear about this issue.
To avoid useless theories, Carl mentioned it before we knew it's what DPReviewTV used.

P.S. This micro-flutter issue isn't a favorable thing to say about Pentax. Lens choices are few, and modern lens choices are fewer.

Last edited by Kunzite; 05-10-2021 at 02:06 PM.
05-10-2021, 02:09 PM   #32
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Kunzite Quote
There's no entity allowing lenses to use for AF tests
But if the micro-flutter issue is real (and I have no reason to doubt Carl on this), this lens is a poor choice for testing AF-C. It seems, poorer than slow focusing lenses like the DA* 60-250.
It makes me wonder if this wasn't why the K-3iii didn't reach the D500's hit rate, for DPReviewTV.

OTOH I have no experience with the Tamron-made D FA (nor with the Tamron-branded versions); and only now I hear about this issue.
To avoid useless theories, Carl mentioned it before we knew it's what DPReviewTV used.
I don't know why there seems to be a lack of cooperation between DPR and Chris & Jordan. DPR should be able to get their guys the most appropriate setups for reviews and comparisons. IMO this should have been K-3 III + DFA 150-450 vs D500 + 200-500.