Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2021, 02:02 AM   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Ishpuini Quote
I have no experience with electronic shutter. Can anyone explain how this works? Is it either electronic or mechanic shutter throughout the entire range of shutter speeds? If so, what would be the reasons to keep the mechanic shutter? Or does the electronic shutter only engage for speeds faster than 1/8000s? The documentation isn't very clear.

I know I could test myself (is it easy to deduce from the camera sound?), but I won't have the time to do the upgrade anytime soon, and I'm curious...
Electronic shutters don’t do well with motion. I that is what I have read, I have not tried it on any shots with moving subjects. But I’ve used it on many landscapes.

07-20-2021, 02:09 AM   #17
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
So perhaps dpreview will update their studio scene? Hopefully this solves the blurry image issues.
07-20-2021, 02:12 AM   #18
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by house Quote
So perhaps dpreview will update their studio scene? Hopefully this solves the blurry image issues.
Unless they'd hit the camera with a hammer during the actual exposure, purely by accident.
07-20-2021, 02:30 AM   #19
Unregistered User

Unfortunately the issue with 2s timer and horizon correction is still there.

07-20-2021, 02:30 AM - 1 Like   #20
Pentaxian

I have no experience with electronic shutter. Can anyone explain how this works? Is it either electronic or mechanic shutter throughout the entire range of shutter speeds? If so, what would be the reasons to keep the mechanic shutter? Or does the electronic shutter only engage for speeds faster than 1/8000s? The documentation isn't very clear.

I know I could test myself (is it easy to deduce from the camera sound?), but I won't have the time to do the upgrade anytime soon, and I'm curious...