Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
05-24-2022, 10:48 PM   #16
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by cdw2000 Quote
I am an electrical engineer. The third terminal is marked "T" for temperature. The batteries contain an embedded temperature sensor. For rapid charging, the charger uses the temperature data (along with the charging current) to help determine when the battery has reached full charge and to ensure it doesn't overheat during the charge cycle.
What is the 4th pin for as used in some newer batteries and the Pentax K-BC90H charger?

05-25-2022, 01:48 AM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Spock Quote
What is the 4th pin for as used in some newer batteries and the Pentax K-BC90H charger?
+
-
T: A resistor, 10kohm, probably temperature dependant between T and -

the fourth terminal could be the middle connection between the two cells in the battery. But I am only guessing here...... The battery have some internal electronics to make sure the cells are balanced. But they can only handle currents up to a certain level. If you want to quick charge batteries, the charger itself could make sure the cells are balanced and my guess is that the 4th connection is for this purpose.
05-29-2022, 02:12 PM   #18
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by SpotmaticGuy Quote
Hi, I just took delivery of my K3 III and my first new Pentax in about a decade. I'd like to get an auxiliary battery charger, one that plugs into a wall socket and that can charge a standard battery for the K3. Any suggestions? Thanks!
I like to recommend this charging times comparision table:
New Ricoh Charger - Page 3 - PentaxForums.com

Last edited by angerdan; 05-29-2022 at 02:49 PM.
05-29-2022, 02:28 PM   #19
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by angerdan Quote
I like to recommend this charging times comparision table: