Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-22-2022, 12:51 AM - 1 Like   #1

Advice for Wildlife Shooting

Hi guys, just took my K-3III + HD-DA55-300mm PLM to a walk and photographing on insects and birds.

I am a newbie in this aspect.

At first, the result is somehow disappointing.

Even for some insects standing still on the edge, the AFC system sometimes missed.

I switched to AFS, and then started seeing the difference.

The missed one here is AFC with Expanded Area (L)

The successful one here is AFS with Zone Select

I got home and watched Kobie's youtube explaining the K-3III AFC vs AFS, and begin to understand.

My understanding is that, if I want to shoot an object not moving or moving very very slowly, AFS can be much better option than AFC.

The AFC is ONLY specific for objects in motion.

Is that correct ? Any other advice ?

Thank you in advance !

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 Mark III  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 Mark III  Photo 
05-22-2022, 02:55 AM - 7 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
AF-C is continuous, so the slightest movement by the subject or you can change it. I do not have the same camera, but I only use AF-C for birds in flight or running animals, you have to anticipate that sometimes to be ready. I will also use multi point when using AF-C, never zone. I don’t have a reason for not using zone except a couple of failed attempts.

Dragonflies can be difficult, but with patience they will usually return to the same spot, and you can slowly get closer, then usually AF-S with center point, or AF-C with center point if the wind is blowing their perch enough.

Last edited by ramseybuckeye; 05-22-2022 at 03:31 AM.
05-22-2022, 04:04 AM - 3 Likes   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Hayashi Quote
My understanding is that, if I want to shoot an object not moving or moving very very slowly, AFS can be much better option than AFC.