Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 70 Likes Search this Thread
06-07-2023, 09:09 PM - 18 Likes   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I finally came back home*

In the film days I shot Pentax, Ricoh, and Olympus using 50mm prime lenses. Then came the digital world. I started in 2003 and started with Canon cameras and lenses. I graduated and moved through three Canon Digital cameras and then decided to try Sony’s mirrorless crop cameras and then two of their full frame mirrorless cameras and I hated the view finders. Finally in my journey through the digital camera world I decided to try Pentax cameras. I really liked them in my film days and ended up loving the digital DSLRs both crop and full frame versions. So, I purchased the K3-Mark II, K1, K1-Mark II, and the Kp. I owned a host of Pentax lenses.

Then came the biggest mistake that I ever made in my photography journey. When Pentax delayed coming out with a new camera after the K3-Mark II, and K1-Mark II, I moved from Pentax to Fujifilm cameras. The x100v, XT4 and then this last fall the XT5. I ran into all kinds of issues that impacted my attitude and creativity. Many of my reasons were subjective, but there were also some technical reasons as well. The color of Pentax was in my view genuinely nicer and more natural than Fujifilm. The fact that there was too much digital noise with the 40-megapixel processor in their XT5 certainly did not help. Then there was the poor handling ergonomics of the Fujifilm cameras. I ended up having to purchase accessories to make them ergonomically easier to handle and I do not have big hands. Most of all I was very tired of having to look through the viewfinder on mirrorless cameras. At times the mirrorless viewfinders would impact my composition.