Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-10-2020, 10:23 PM - 2 Likes   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hopeless Minolta SRT 100

Hello,

I was sent this poor Minolta SRT 100. It is all corroded, seized and stuck. I honestly don't think it can be saved. I have no idea and zero experience with Minoltas, so this will be a learning experience. That is not dirt. That's corrosion.

Even opening the back was a huge challenge. Need both hands to open. I'm sure that dead bug is not original equipment

Thanks,

Last edited by ismaelg; 11-18-2020 at 05:11 PM.
11-10-2020, 11:18 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

That really looks like it’s beyond salvation..... that’s a sad thing to see.
11-10-2020, 11:44 PM   #3

Like the Pentax K1000 the Minolta SRT-100 series are built like tanks so it may not be as hopeless as it seems. These used mercury batteries so be aware of the voltage difference when checking the meter.
11-11-2020, 12:06 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Erks! Looks as though a horde of blowflies feasted upon it and left their 'mark'.

Were it just the outside I would send the offending parts off to the Powder Coaters for stripping and Groovy re-colour. (Hot Orange ! )

But that mirror !

11-11-2020, 12:14 AM   #5
Veteran Member

I have the utmost faith in you.
11-11-2020, 12:28 AM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
They are very well made. I have several versions of them.
11-11-2020, 12:50 AM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

This will be fun Ismael, and to me it looks better than that last Pentax.

So what is your plan for the pitting?

11-11-2020, 04:56 AM - 2 Likes   #8
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by ismaelg Quote
I honestly don't think it can be saved.
Then you have nothing to lose by trying.

I'm sure that dead bug is not original equipment