Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-24-2011, 12:15 PM   #1

Pentax Binocular's

Hello

I am in the market for some new binocular's. I hear Pentax has some pretty good binocular's. I will be using them for mostly general purpose/hiking/birding. I am thinking somewhere around 8x-42's. Does anyone have experience with Pentax Binocular's or binocular's in general for that matter. I am new to buying binocular's. I was also looking at a pair if Minox/Steiner one. Not sure which is better/personal preference. Some people like the German glass better.. Any thoughts?

05-24-2011, 12:30 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Unlike testing a camera lens, your own eyes are the best guage for how well you'll like a set of binoculars. Visit a big retailer (in the US, I'd try Cabela's or Bass Pro Shop) and ask the clerk if you can leave your credit card or a wad of cash as a deposit. Take several pairs outside and see which ones give the best image, the worst image and rank them by quality. Then walk back into the store and buy the pair with the best image that fits your budget.

I'm partial to the Kahles brand from Austria but have found that the 80/20 rule applies: you may find a pair of Konus or Alpen or ??? that gives you 80% of the qaulity of Euro-glass for 20% of the price. Don't pay for supposedly better quality that you can't see with your own eyes.

Sig

Last edited by Sigmoid; 05-24-2011 at 12:32 PM. Reason: typo
05-25-2011, 12:58 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Yes, if you're spending a fair amount of money, I would say you definitely need to have a good test drive of the various candidates.

Things to look out for are:

1. Sharpness across the field of view.

2. Field of view (how "wide-angle" are they).

3. Brightness of image.

4. Colour fringing (e.g at edges of tree branches against bright sky).

5. Eye relief (how far can you move your eye away from the eyepiece - especially for spectacle wearers).