Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2006, 06:47 PM   #1
Inactive Account

two 2gb cards -- which one?

Hi guys, I'll finally enter the world of Pentax this Christmas when I get my K110D. However, I haven't bought a card yet, and I'm debating which one I should get.

Right now, at Fry's Electronics, there are two 2GB cards: A Kingston 30x (FRYS.com*|*Kingston) and a PQI 60x (FRYS.com*|*PQI). Both are a rock-bottom $12 after rebates.

I know Kingston is a more established brand than PQI, but the PQI is a bit faster. I can split my photo-taking habits into two categories: Many shots taken relatively quickly, but several seconds apart at the least, and a few shots set up with the tripod and the calculator, taken several minutes apart. I've used the continuous mode on my camera once in the last two years, though. I'm new to SLR cameras, so are there any other considerations that may influence me to get the faster speed? Also, if anybody has either of these cards, in any size, have you had any problems?

12-15-2006, 08:51 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A 30x card is out of the question, but 60x is enough for the K110D. You might as well make a better investment than $12, though, as that seems too good to be true, even with today's falling prices.

As a matter of fact, some of the cheaper cards perform worse despite having the same official parameters. The ones that are just marked down are OK, but others may be made of inferior elements and may be "fake." (google that)

Try any lexar card (60-80x) for starters, or consider the Ultra III (133x) photo cards. And if you want real performance, turn to EP memory- all their cards feature 150x speeds and are non-SDHC, even at 4GB.

Feel free to search the board for more info on SD's. Hope this helps

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)