Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2011, 10:16 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
3 Piece Hoya ND filter set or Tiffen variable???

At the local camera store, I went in to buy some neutral density filters, got a 3piece Hoya HMC 67mm nd filter set in .3 .6 and .9 for sale at $120 (in a later date, I plan to also buy a 10stop). But the salesman was also trying to steer me to a Tiffen 2-8stop variable nd filter for $159 to save on carrying multiple filters..........This intrigued me, and so I put off the purchase till I find out all pros/cons and way them against each other before deciding.

I'm not a pro, nor a payed amateur, and don't own any pro level equipment (probably never will either)..........just an enthusiast looking to improve on his abilities/skills to broaden my horizons. Please keep this in mind when submitting replies.

Last edited by nms_photog; 10-14-2011 at 10:21 AM.
10-14-2011, 11:50 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
How difficult is it to carry 3 filters? You'll probably settle on one density in the end :-)
10-14-2011, 12:27 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by nms_photog Quote
At the local camera store, I went in to buy some neutral density filters, got a 3piece Hoya HMC 67mm nd filter set in .3 .6 and .9 for sale at $120 (in a later date, I plan to also buy a 10stop). But the salesman was also trying to steer me to a Tiffen 2-8stop variable nd filter for $159 to save on carrying multiple filters..........This intrigued me, and so I put off the purchase till I find out all pros/cons and way them against each other before deciding.

I'm not a pro, nor a payed amateur, and don't own any pro level equipment (probably never will either)..........just an enthusiast looking to improve on his abilities/skills to broaden my horizons. Please keep this in mind when submitting replies.