Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2011, 07:23 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Recommendation for quick release plate?

I am quite new to owning a DSLR and need some advice for possible equipment. I recently had to shoot a small indoor event, which normally would be fine. Long story short, I was also asked to operate a video camera at the same time. I decided to put the camera on a tripod and trigger it by remote so I could focus on the video. The angle for the still camera turned out to be not very good and it would have been nice to have been able to quickly mount/unmount the camera from the tripod, an old Velbon unit.

I am considering that a quick release plate on the tripod mount could sort out this problem. I don't want to spend a lot for something I won't need that often, plus I don't think I'll need anything fancy. So presumably such a thing is available for around $50, hopefully less? Are they generic enough that I could use it with any tripod, like my old Velbon, or the cheap monopod I have?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

12-28-2011, 07:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Why not an entirely new aluminum tripod with ball head and quick release plate that is surprisingly solid for around $30-40?

Check out this review:
Dolica Proline (Aluminum) reviews - Pentax Camera Accessories: Database and Reviews
12-28-2011, 09:49 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You can get Manfrotto and Arca Swiss compatible plate adapters new at a variety of price points. Which one to get really depends on which plate system you want to buy into and whether or not the money would be better spent on a new complete tripod or head.

Examples:
Manfrotto 625 (3296) RC0 Hexagonal Quick Release Adapter 625 B&H
Manfrotto 384 Dove Tail Quick Release Adapter Assembly 384 B&H
Manfrotto 323 RC2 System Quick Release Adapter with 323 B&H
Giottos MH-658 Quick Release Assembly MH658 B&H Photo Video