Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-13-2012, 07:51 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by bdery Quote
That's not a laser.

Being an optical designer by trade and having created and assembled lasers myself, I can give a few pointers.

A laser illuminating the subject will be a wonderful help for an AF system. The concept is great, but they did not invent it (I've been using red lasers with hologram tips bought at the dollar store to focus for a long time). Sony also had a red laser AF assist system on their compacts a few years back.

Laser light is not ALWAYS dangerous for human eyes, but if you're not sure then assume it is. Anything above a class I laser will be dangerous at some point, a class III or IIIa will be instantaneously damaging, a class II after a few seconds.

for static subjects, with the camera on a tripod, this would work well. For moving subjects or when the camera is moving, even slightly, it will not work well.

If you're interested in this concept, get yourself a cheap laser pointer sold with holograms (making cute patterns like stars or flowers) and this will help you focus. No need to pay 150$ for a green laser.
I think many aren't comfortable with the use of a laser, but has anyone extended the green light into something more powerful and focused than what is on the camera now but less than a low power laser? It might be a mute point if it only works well for static subjects though. Thanks for the info....

01-13-2012, 09:36 AM   #17
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Docrwm Quote
I still wonder about the impact of reflected laser light on the sensor though.
That's insignificant, except (depending on the laser intensity) when reflected on a mirror.
QuoteOriginally posted by SteveM Quote
a mute point
you mean moot point? Just to be sure.