Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-02-2012, 08:23 AM   #1

Too Good To Be True??

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

First of all, I am VERY new to photography in general. I've always enjoyed taking pictures but I never really even knew what kind of camera I was shooting with. Now, I've gotten my first DSLR and it is the Pentax K-x. I'm excited to learn about this beautiful camera and I've already caught LBA... ugh!

So the point of my post... I found this listing on Craigslist and of course I've heard about crazy people using that site to get people alone and stupid things like that. Well, I'm not familiar with the price of cameras or lenses and I just want to know if anyone else thinks this sounds like its too good to be true:

Pentax K-1000 camera plus 5 lenses, Samsonite case, and Sunpak auto144PC external flash.
Lenses are as follows:
Yashica 42-75mm f/3.5-4.5 ML
Takumar (bayonet) 135mm
Vivitar 70-150mm
Pentax F-Zoom 70-200mm
Focal 80-200mm

All for $100

I have emailed the guy and plan to take my dad with me to meet him tomorrow to check out the items but I was just looking to get some knowledgable people's opinions first before making the 45 minute drive to meet this guy.

Thanks!!

03-02-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
the K1000, the Tak bayonet and the F 70-200 are worth a bit more of 100$ i guess. Sounds like a good deal.

check lenses are clear and bright, and diaphragm are snappy.
03-02-2012, 08:47 AM   #3
Inactive Account

I got a deal similar to that about a year ago and it all worked out fine. Sensible to take your father with you, I'm a man and I've taken a burly mate with me when buying second hand stuff before in case of scammers luring me in for a mugging.