Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-28-2012, 08:25 AM   #1
Forum Member

Flash advice

I have found some useful info on these questions already in previous topics, but wanted to check some specifics with those who know more than me!

I have a k-5, and I am looking to get a flash I can use wirelessly with full TTL metering for events (so need ttl) and creative photography. I’ll be using it for bounce flash so I want good tilt/swivel .
I am a bit of a novice when it comes to flash, and although I occasionally do paid studio work I always use constant light as I come from a video background and I know where I stand with “real” light – but am looking to expand my horizons!

I am considering a Sigma EF-610 DG Super, available for around £170 (approx. 255 USD). It has the above features, is powerful and has some other features like high speed sync, which would come in useful.

I currently have a Yungnuo yn-560 II (a manual flash with no built-in wireless function) and would also like to use that with the new flash in a fully manual studio set up with the Yungnuo as an optical slave for a simple portrait set up.

So my big questions are:

Does this flash work wirelessly with the k-5? (My research indicates that it does, but I haven’t seen it in black and white and just want to be sure)

Would another flash in the £100-£200 (approx. 150 – 300 USD) area suit my requirements better, or for less money? With Pentax’s own flashes for example I don’t think I would get anywhere near the same level of features and power without spending £400 on the AF-540.

Will the auto metering work with older lenses, e.g. Pentax-M 50mm 1.4?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

06-28-2012, 09:37 AM   #2
Veteran Member

first you need P-TTL, TTL doesn't work with the K5, very important!!!