Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2012, 10:53 PM   #1

Looking for a quality tripod

I am looking to purchase a quality tripod for my K-5. I spent the whole night going to Amazon and eBay, and I have not found anything I like, then I realized people here can point into the right direction better as I am fairly new to photography. I have a very clumsy tripod that takes forever to setup and is very difficult to adjust its position. I'm looking for a tripod that does pretty much the opposite of what my old one does - easy to setup and easy to move the camera position, preferably one of those with a ball on top for easy turning. While I do have a very small budget, I can save up for it, so if you know anything under $150, please point me to it.

Thanks a ton!

07-30-2012, 10:56 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Costco has the Dolica Carbon Version for $79 at the moment, it includes a ball head. Costco - Dolica ZX600B103 Proline 60" Carbon Fiber Tripod with Ball Head

They are decent quality for an inexpensive tripod. Anything better will cost you more as you may need to buy the ball separate from the legs.

How large a lens are you going to be putting on the K-5 on there?
07-30-2012, 11:23 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for showing me that. The biggest lens I will be using is probably the FA 100-300, which isn't that big. This seems to be a good option, although do you have any recommendation for ball/legs? I am looking for something that will keep me completely satisfied so that I won't a thought about ever getting a replacement (like the K-5 I got =P).
07-31-2012, 12:30 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by gzq916 Quote
I am looking for something that will keep me completely satisfied so that I won't a thought about ever getting a replacement