Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2013, 02:25 PM   #1

Tripod for K5

Hi
I'm new to the DSLR photography and have bought a K5. I'm loving it and getting on really well but I've decided to buy a tripod. Has anyone got any ideas of what one I should buy.

We do a lot of walking so I want a relatively light one if possible. My biggest lens so far is the 50-200mm lens but I'm hoping to buy a macro lens possible the smc D-FA 100 mm F2.8 Macro WR so it would need to hold that too.

Any ideas or info would be most appreciated.
Thanks
Ally

04-14-2013, 02:56 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to PF. There are lots of choices for a solid and light tripod. Don't let anyone tell you that you have to break the bank for a good one. I'd suggest that you look at the reviews in the Accessories section first for both tripods and heads. Then look at the monopods. For hiking a study monopod can serve several functions, including steadying your camera. There are even Monopods that can convert to tripods, such as the Hakuba that I own. Hakuba (but is marketed under other names too) VersiPod 2 reviews - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database

Tripods - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database

Tripod Heads - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database

Monopods - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database
04-14-2013, 03:11 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Take a look at Benro Travel Angel. Compact, light and pretty sturdy.
04-14-2013, 03:16 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Cheap or expensive? High max height or small size folded? Heavy and sturdy or light weight and portable? Video, gimbal or ball head?