Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2013, 10:28 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Two-screw QR Plate for Tamron 300/2.8 60B

I am new to monster-sized lenses and so I used a single-screw plate to mount my newly acquired Tamron 300/2.8 60B on a Gimbal head. I noticed that the lens rotated a bit despite the single screw being well tightened. So, I am trying to find an Arca Swiss compatible plate with not one but two screws, to more securely hold the lens on the head.

I found this plate:

at B&H. Wonder if it would work.

Would anyone happen to know of a specific 2-screw plate that would fit this Tamron?

Thanks!

Andy

06-07-2013, 05:19 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The plate in the image you posted isn't long enough I think. You want a longer plate so you can properly adjust the balance of the lens/camera on your gimbal head. You need the ability to slide the camera/lens combo forward and/or back so it will balance.

Here is a great source for lens plates and related gear. Having the 2 mounting screws is the only way to really secure the plate to the lens mount.

Plate w/o ridge : Hejnar Photo Store, Serving Your Professional Photography Needs
06-07-2013, 09:33 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Stan, thank you for the advice, a longer plate makes a lot of sense. Since I couldn't find a picture of it anywhere, here is a close-up of the tripod collar base for the 60B

Btw, I emailed Hejnar Photo about the plate, will post if any results.
06-07-2013, 09:55 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Just look a few minutes on eBay. You will find plenty of plates for your needs. I got one for my 60-250, all of 5$ shipped. It's very high-quality, durable. There's nothing fancy involved with QR plates, anyone with the right tools can make one.

I've even seen some with one fixed screw and one adjustable screw. This type would suit you well.

06-07-2013, 10:42 AM   #5
Pentaxian