Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-13-2013, 04:13 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
In search for a heavy tripod

Hi guys, I'm very new to photography so be nice.

I'm really enjoying long exposure work - both at night and during the day. I also want to eventually get a bit more serious about macro.

I'm a pretty solid guy, so weight doesn't phase me so much. I've heard that the heavier the tripod, the more effective it is at eliminating vibration.

I've had a look around, and most tripods seem to be sold on their lightness, which is fair enough; most people would anticipate taking it travelling etc.

I've also been told that tripods without a central column suffer from even less vibration.

My camera is a K-30

The lens I use the most currently is a DA L 55-300mm

The next lens purchase will be a SMC Pentax-DA 15mm F4 ED AL

Thanks in advance!

06-13-2013, 04:25 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Field photographers usually like something light. The carbon fiber pods are very light, quite rigid, and not very resonant. If you don't mind weight, a classic wooden leg set is the way to go. You are correct that no column is better than a column, whether it is up or down.
06-13-2013, 04:35 PM   #3
Veteran Member

tripod design for studio are quite heavy as well.

But with long exposure you don't need to worry about vibration actually.
The only bit of vibration that will happen will be at the start caused by the shutter, so that is what, 1/10 of a second? So with a 10 second exposure that 1/100 bit won't be noticable.
06-13-2013, 04:45 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Don't go overboard--a 55-300 on a K-30 isn't all that demanding. A 'pod rated for 2.5x the total weight of that combination should be plenty. Otoh, if you're likely to get the bug for longer and faster lenses like some poor slobs do (ahem), get a monster right at the start. Tip: I got a very good deal on a used 'pod at KEH.