Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-24-2013, 08:01 PM   #1

waterproof bag

I'm looking at camera bags for canoeing. I would like one that is waterproof and floats. I saw some by Overboard and Lowepro (more expensive). Does anyone have a waterproof/floating bag that they like? Or are there any brands that you've heard of?

06-24-2013, 08:49 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I have no personal experience with the Lowepro waterproof Dryzone bags - but personally I would go for the more expensive option because when it comes to bags you generally do get what you pay for. I have colleagues that have used them and can vouch for the Lowepro Dryzone camera bags - though they do require regular maintenance of the waterproof sealing* if this is done as prescribed you shouldn't have a problem.

* as I recall a silicone compound has to be used on the zippers to repel water, this substance can cause sand to gum up the zippers which could be problematic.
06-25-2013, 12:22 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Ortlieb

ORTLIEB - Produkte / Products /Produits
06-25-2013, 12:35 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree with JohnX, I use a standard similar dry bag for waterproof, but I don't know about floating depend on how much air you leave in the bag before sealing.

06-25-2013, 04:04 PM   #5
Veteran Member

It's been MANY years since I've been canoeing, but when I did I remember that we used some sort of "buckets", similar to a paint-bucket but with a lid-joint, for carrying stuff that wouldn't do well with water (maps, camera, batteries, ...) and which we wanted to float if tipped over.

I do not recall from where we got those, but I remember them being incessantly cheap, and sold for something entirely different from canoeing....darn if I could recall.....
06-25-2013, 06:07 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Summer:Lake Superior - Michigan Winter:Texas Hill Country
Photos: Gallery