Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-20-2013, 06:14 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Spotmeter Comparisons

I am in the market for a spotmeter for use with film cameras. I use a Sekonic L358 meter handheld for close-in work and overall scene metering (when not using the TTL in my KM), but occasionally I can't meter exactly how I want to expose a scene when I can't reach the thing I want to meter (metering shadows etc.). I am unclear on whether I should be considering a Pentax Digital Spotmeter as opposed to a Spotmeter V.

I feel like a well-tuned Spotmeter V will do what I need it to, without the added expense of the Digital, but I was hoping to get a more clear sense of the differences (minus the Ansel Adams cachet). Or for that mater is it better to just go for the more affordable Soligors since I'm not a pro?

Sorry if this has been asked before, I couldn't find a thread with a clear comparison.

08-20-2013, 07:54 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ask @Tuco. He is the resident Pentax Spotmeter expert.

Steve
08-20-2013, 09:26 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Why thanks for that endorsement, Steve.

I own both the Pentax Spotmeter V and the Digital Spotmeter. I pretty much meter with them all the time even if the camera has a built in meter or not for film. I don't know what is really "digital" about the Digital Spotmeter though apart from the old, vector-style lights in the viewfinder. It, like the Spotmeter V, use a analog-style dial you rotate to see all the combinations of exposures for a given EV reading. And that is a GOOD thing if you practice the zone system of metering.

So the biggest differences between the Spotmeter V and the Digital version in practice to me is the physical size. The Digital can fit in your pocket. I have a Sekonic light meter with a spot meter attachment but light meters with that kind of readout are more frustrating to use for my style.