Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2013, 08:38 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Tripod advice

Hey guys,

I'm new to photography and have had my K-50 for a couple weeks now and absolutely loving it. Since I have mostly been shooting landscapes, architecture, and low light stuff I figured a good use for my Xmas bonus would be a good tripod. Been using a very cheap tripod that came with my girlfriends Nikon D3200 bundle that obviously has a bunch of shortcomings.

From my research I have narrowed down to a couple options and would like your guys opinions. I'm open to other suggestions but would like to keep my budget at $250, and less is always good!

Option 1: Vanguard Alta Pro 263AB 100 Tripod W/SBH 100 ALTA PRO 263AB 100

Option 2: Benro A1692TB0 Travel Angel II Triple Transfunctional A1692TB0

I'm really torn because I like everything about the Vanguard: price, height (I'm 6'2"), a lot of flexibility and options with the multi-angle center column, multiple bubble levels, solid ball head, and the fact that it seems to get unanimously positive reviews and recommendations everywhere.

I just wish it was a little more compact when folded, which is where the Benro comes in at. It's considerably lighter and folds up less than 16". It is also easily converted into a monopod and is weather resistant which would compliment a Pentax perfectly.

So basically my question is with my first tripod is it worth the extra cost and losing some functionality to be more portable? I'm inclined to say that I would be more likely to carry the Benro with me more often but as I haven't completely figured out what direction I'm going to take with photography I really like all the options and flexibility the Vanguard would provide.

I will admit I have a serious problem with analysis paralysis and just need to make a decision because either would be a colossal step up from what I'm using now. Just thought I'd get some opinions first. Thanks!