Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-06-2014, 04:19 AM   #1

Is it stupid to buy a cheap protection filter?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi fellow Pentaxians!
As some might have seen in my previous thread I work as a photographer in a nightclub. Therefore I need some sort of protection for my lens. I thought I would just buy the cheapest filter I could find which is this --> 46mm 49mm 52mm 55mm 58mm 62mm 67mm 72mm 77mm 82mm Ultra Violet UV Lens Filter | eBay

But would a cheap filter like this worsen my image quality?

01-06-2014, 04:29 AM   #2
PJ1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All filters will have some impact on image quality. There could be some shift in the way colours are recorded or perhaps some flare or ghosting. As a general rule, cheaper filters are likely to be of lesser quality and will have greater impacts. But for a couple of bucks you may as well see if the impact is enough for you to worry about. There is a lot to be said for trying something when the experiment is not going to break the bank.
01-06-2014, 04:45 AM   #3

Original Poster
Well I bought it now!
And guess what .. Estimated delivery: Between Friday, Jan. 17 and Monday, Feb. 10
01-06-2014, 04:47 AM   #4
Veteran Member

In a night club the light is low, and cheap filters has very pour antireflection coating, if they has some. Beside degrading the resolution, the light gathering capability will be worse, with even more flare under the club's lights. And, if the filter get dirty, a cheap one is hard and time consuming to clean. In these conditions, a very good, but unfortunately quiet expensive filter, with nano coating, is highly recommended.

01-06-2014, 04:50 AM   #5
Veteran Member