Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-08-2014, 09:10 PM   #1
Forum Member

Astrophotography Tracking

OK, so I'd like to get I to this stuff by jumping right in since that's what I usually do. I've been trying to find a motorized tracking device and this is where I am stuck. Having browsed a littlw bit I see stuff about the o-gps tracker, but that looks just like a gps unit. What I am looking for is an actual motorized mount that will support the 300 da* lens and body. I am completely new to this stuff so forgive my lack of experience here. Money is not too much of an issue but it does need to be taken into consideration. Maybe someone can point me in the right direction..... or feel free to tell me to run!

01-08-2014, 09:24 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The o-gps1 allows on some Pentax cameras an astrotracing function. where based on the cameras gps position and orientation the camera is able to move the sensor in time with the rotation of the stars across the sky, thus allowing for long(er) than normal exposures without star trailling.

For motorised you probably need to look more into telescope mounts, such as EQ (equatorial) mounts. Keep in mind cheaper mounts may be suited to telescope use, they will introduce shaking in photographs as they are not quite smooth enough in their motion.

I believe this is one of the cheapest high quality options around - Astrophotography Made Easy - Home, which is just a more engineered version of a home made barn door tracker.

Currently I am building a barn door tracker as a little exercise, I am hoping to get usable exposures of 5-10 secs @ 300mm from it, but we will see

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barn_door_tracker
01-08-2014, 09:27 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Take a look at the Vixen Polarie or Ioptron Skytracker. A google search with get you lots of info. The skytracker is on sale at B&H for $320 now, that's $50 less than last week.