Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2014, 11:27 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
How much my old filter can cost now?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I took out my old Nikon lenses, and found the filter box with the price tag on it. The filter cost $199.95 about 12 years ago. I'm pretty sure my husband was duped by sale guy to get such a filter for the total novice as I was back to that time. I just played a bit with the camera, got annoyed, and bought P&S cheap one

It's Crystal Optics Super High Resolution multi coated filter, SAC 55 UV, made in Japan. I tried to google it, but got the result for CO's filters around 10 dollars.
This one produces stars, here is the picture crop :

I know nothing about filters, so could you tell me please if filters dropped the price since, or it still has the value? I like the star effect, and going to keep this filter, just would like to know what I have.

01-24-2014, 11:46 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are filters that cause a star effect, but I don't think that is what you have. Those have a grid embedded in the glass that cause the affect. From your description you have a regular UV filter in 55mm. Still quite usable, though not really needed much with digital. Top of the line fancy super duper UV filter in 55mm? Maybe $25. $10 -$15 for a good one.
01-24-2014, 11:50 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Are you sure the price tag didn't come from somewhere else?
55mm cross screen / star filters range from $17-70 for good brands on BH and under $10 (as low as $3) for random brands on Amazon
Star Effects | B&H Photo Video
01-24-2014, 12:28 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster