Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-29-2014, 11:39 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Yongnuo RF 603 N and Metz 52 AF 1

Hi,

I recently bought the Yongnuo RF-603 N and on testing it does not trigger the Metz 52 AF flashgun. Is it me doing something wron or are these not compatible. Camera is a Kr. BTW I can see the red light on the flash transceiver which I understand means the signal is being received.

I am stuck. Help please.

TJ

04-29-2014, 12:20 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Um, I'm no expert (ask Class A or another flash-maven), but I thought the RF-603 C (for Canon, not Nikon) is the transceiver that works with Pentax. No idea why, as they both have single pin firing... but that's what I've read.

EDIT: nevermind, they should all work to trigger a flash, it's just which shutter relase cable that comes with them - see Thoog's review here.

Does the indicator light on the trigger on top of the camera light up consistently? Does it light up when you shoot at 1/180 or less? (Pentax cameras won't trigger the flash hotshoe unless your shutter speed is within their sync range...)

Next, is the flash in Manual Power mode? Won't work if it's waiting for a P-TTL signal from a camera body...

Last edited by panoguy; 04-29-2014 at 12:36 PM.
04-29-2014, 12:40 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by panoguy Quote
Um, I'm no expert (ask Class A or another flash-maven), but I thought the RF-603 C (for Canon, not Nikon) is the transceiver that works with Pentax. No idea why, as they both have single pin firing... but that's what I've read.

EDIT: nevermind, they should all work to trigger a flash, it's just which shutter relase cable that comes with them - see Thoog's review here.