Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2014, 03:53 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Why I don't love my Sirui T-025X (although it might be right for you)

I've been thinking for a while about posting a review of my Sirui T-025x. I noticed bdery's thread and thought about adding to it but since I have a different perspective, I didn't want to hijack it. Mods - feel free to merge this with another thread if you think it appropriate.

I'm a relative novice when it comes to photography and even more so when it comes to using a tripod. Weight is a big issue for me. I have a really bad back and an old rotator cuff injury, so I need to limit as much as possible the gear I carry. I also travel a fair bit. So I when I first got around to getting a tripod, I sought out a lightweight one that packed up small. Naturally, I was drawn to the Sirui T-025X. It has some very positive reviews and the experiences that others have described suggest that it does a good job of filling the travel tripod niche for many people.

I got one but I have really struggled with it. Yes, it's light and super-portable. But I find it very difficult to operate, mainly because the legs and other elements adjust by twisting. I had been focusing so much on the issue of weight that I hadn't thought about another physical limitation I have - pre-arthritic hands (and a severed tendon in one finger that makes it kind of useless). I find it really difficult to twist things to tighten or loosen something - my fingers just don't manage it well. Add to that the fact that I'm kind of mechanically inept and I seem to spend most of my time adjusting and cursing my tripod instead of taking photographs with it.