Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-07-2014, 04:28 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Questions about the Mechanics of a Variable ND Filter

Hello all,

I'm thinking about grabbing a variable ND filter for hiking. Sometimes, the sunlight is just way too bright, especially when I'm using slow-sync flash too.

I read an article related to variable ND filters: The Best ND Filter Guide | NDFilters.org
QuoteQuote:
These [variable ND filters] work by effectively sandwiching two polarizing filters together. The rear polarizer will cut out light in one plane, whilst the from element can be rotated, effectively reducing the light in the other plane. By using this technique you can control the amount of light reaching the sensor with almost infinite control.
This is interesting. I've never used a variable ND filter before.

1. I own a CPL filter; does it mean I can just grab another CPL filter somewhere and make my own variable ND filter?
2. Does it have adverse effect on shooting electronic devices, such as LCD monitors (which have a built-in polarizer), or at a vehicle (some windows are polarized)?
3. Does it affect the camera's autofocusing system and metering system like a linear polarizer would do?

Thank you.

09-07-2014, 04:47 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Here is an article on how to build an nd filter with cpl filters. I did not try it myself as I have a variable nd filter already.

How to Build a Cheap and Simple Variable Neutral Density Filter
09-07-2014, 04:54 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by psychdoc Quote
Here is an article on how to build an nd filter with cpl filters. I did not try it myself as I have a variable nd filter already.

Thanks for the nice tutorial! I'm scouting a CPL online now... I'll let you guys know if it works nicely.
09-07-2014, 05:20 PM   #4
Veteran Member