Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-25-2014, 06:13 AM   #1

Trouble understanding how AF280T flash works

I just picked up and AF 280T and was wondering if someone could explain how the auto modes work. I was under the impression that the flash could select an aperture for you, and while I can see that the scale is adjusted by selecting the ASA, I am confused on how to use the on board meter.

Do you really just set the ASA, set the camera to the synced shutter speed, set the aperture to the one that lines up on the back of the flash, move the head into whatever position you want, hit the test button, and then look to see if the A check light flashes? Is that really how the meter tells you the picture is properly exposed?

I may be overthinking it, but I have no experience with flash photography at all. And I'm not in DSLR kansas anymore..

Thanks

09-25-2014, 06:39 AM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Which camera are you using?
09-25-2014, 06:49 AM   #3

Original Poster
I have two pentax mxs, an me super, and a k1000. I'm trying to use it on any of those.
09-25-2014, 07:12 AM   #4
Ole
Administrator

Those cameras do not support TTL flash so you must use one of the two Auto modes (green or red). These modes rely on the light sensor in the flash. You set the ASA on the flash matching the film, and you set the aperture manually on the lens per the table on the back of the camera - use the F-stop at the green or red mark, as applicable.

Only for 'A' type (and later) cameras can the flash set the aperture.

The shutter speed will automatically be set to the flash sync speed on some cameras, but not all models support this, in which case you must set it manually to 1/60s and/or 'X' as marked on the shutter speed dial.

Hitting the Check button should work as you describe it. So yes, you're on the right track.

Rear panel

09-25-2014, 07:19 AM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ole Quote