Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-07-2014, 06:59 PM   #1

Charging battery in other country

Hello, I am travelling from Canada (110v) to Europe (220v) for one month. Looking at the Battery charger it indicates 100v-240v, but the AC plug cord indicates 125v. Shall I buy another plug cord? Or can I plug my AC plug cord on 220v in Europe? Thanks for your answers.

12-07-2014, 07:16 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The current at 240V will be half the current at 110V, and the power is pretty low. I'd be very surprised if the camera battery charger could cause a problem with the cord, and should be designed to work anywhere. Having said that, I'm not a licensed electrician.

In the manual for the K3 it says: "The specified voltage is 110-240 VAC". See page 100. I've used my charger in Japan and Australia without a problem. In Australia the power is 240V while in Japan it's 110-120 V.

Last edited by RobG; 12-07-2014 at 07:21 PM.
12-07-2014, 07:27 PM   #3
Pentaxian

A simple adapter will do the trick.

If you are going to stay longer then look for a more permanent cord.

Or you can just buy a pack of Wasabi Batteries from Amazon and they will give you two batteries for the K5/K3, a charger, and a European plug all included. Those little chargers like that come with the Wasabi batteries are easier for travel anyway. I bought 2X packs of 2x Wasabi batteries for a total of 4 batteries and two chargers...

http://www.amazon.com/Wasabi-Power-Battery-2-Pack-Charger/dp/B004UR7250/ref=...s=wasabi+dli90

Depending on what you are going to be doing take both chargers so you can charge double fast or just buy a little power strip/surge protector when you get there and you can charge multiple batteries at once.

For $26 bucks you might as well get a couple spare batteries out of the deal.

A plug converter costs about 7 or 8 bucks or less if that's the route you want to go.