Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2015, 12:59 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
oben 2320la review

I've been shooting with a Manfrotto 055xprob for the last 5 years. I needed a new head, so I bought a Sirui k-30x, intending on putting it on the Manfrotto. Unfortunately, the 3 screws holding my old head on the Manfrotto wouldn't budge. I was going to drill them out, but couldn't get a square angle on the screw due to the drill body contacting the tripod column so I decided to just leave it and buy a new tripod. I was going to buy another aluminum tripod but came upon an Oben 2320la at B&H for the modest sum of $199. Oben CC-2320LA 3-Section Carbon Fiber Lateral Tripod CC-2320LA 6x carbon fiber that holds 26.4 lbs and extends to 68.3 inches, weighing just 3.8 lbs. I'm not sure there's anything else available at this price point with similar specs. I'm very pleased with the height of the tripod with fully extended legs. Seems very similar to the Manfrotto. I'm 5'10", and it's pretty much ideal for me. The center column also will swing down at any angle which is pretty nice for macro work. I find the plastic leg locks and tightening knobs to be pretty cheap, however. I'm not sure how they will hold up over time. It does come with a 5 year warranty. Overall it seems like a great deal if you're looking for a CF tripod.

01-05-2015, 02:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
My 190 came with a 10-year warranty. Couldn't you send it in? I'm sure they could get the head off.
01-07-2015, 11:10 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
That does seem like a great deal for a CF tripod.
03-01-2015, 01:03 PM   #4

Original Poster