Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-28-2015, 04:06 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Lens Hoods

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm new to buying lens hoods, as well as being new as a Pentax owner, and would like to know if all lens hoods will work on a lens as long as they state the same size as the lens (i.e. - 49mm). Are lens hoods standard across the manufacturers or do they differ in some way even if they are say 49mm?

I'm looking to buy some hoods on eBay but some do not specifically say Pentax on them. I'm wondering if they will still work for my lenses, provided that I buy the one that corresponds to my lens.

Last edited by philodragon; 04-28-2015 at 04:06 AM. Reason: lens hoods, hood, pentax
04-28-2015, 04:15 AM   #2
Pentaxian

If they are the screw in type, then usually no. If they are the mfg bayonet knock offs then yes they can vary and not fit guite correctly.

PS the pentax hoods can vary between lens models of the same focal length. Example; an 18-55mm wr plastic mount bayonet uses a slightly different hood than the 18-55 mm wr metal mount bayonet even though both are 52mm.

Last edited by Oldbayrunner; 04-28-2015 at 04:31 AM.
04-28-2015, 04:31 AM   #3

I think different manufactures use different bayonet mounts on the front of their lenses, I am pretty sure a hood from a 52mm Nikon lens will not fit on a 52mm Canon lens etc.

Also hoods are usually designed to work on specific lenses and can cause problems if you use them on other lenses i.e. if the hood it too deep it will cause vignetting or if the hoods too shallow it wont shade the lens so it will be pointless.

Saying that you can buy universal hoods but usually they don't works as well.