Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2015, 03:47 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
GorillaPod

Has anyone used one of those small flexible tripods, like the GorillaPod? I have a good full size tripod, but it will not allow me to get down close to the ground. I am thinking of something like the GorillaPod for this, and also just to carry when I don't want to carry a full size tripod. There are several manufacturers of this type of tripod, here is a link to this one JOBY flexible camera tripods for DSLR/SLR cameras and point-and-shoots

05-02-2015, 04:16 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Depends what you mean by "small". I have been using a Gorillapod Focus with ballhead for nearly three years now (genuine Joby model). Although it often takes a bit of fiddling to wrap its legs tightly around railings etc so it doesn't slip, it holds my K5 securely in most situations and has been a boon travelling overseas when I'm always trying to minimise luggage volume. At home, I also find it very useful for macro studies close to the ground. In fact if I think about it, my G 'pod is used more often than my "main" tripod.
05-02-2015, 04:44 PM   #3
Tas
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Gorillapod no mount

Following your link I believe the version I bought about 6-7 years ago is the SLR zoom version.

I've never tried it with one of the heads, it might be better that way, but I've always just screwed it directly into the base of the camera. When I do so I take the battery pack off my K5 to further reduce the size and weight when using it. I also limit the size of lenses, so the Limited primes are the best option to keep the weight down and close to the camera body. These are important points when using the Gorillapod.