Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2015, 09:41 AM   #1

Remote Shutter voltage

What is the voltage output of the shutter release cable port on a K-50?

I'm working on two different projects with the same common question. The remote shutter release cable is just a switch that allows the present voltage to complete the circuit to fire the camera. I've read that it's an extension of the native shutter release button but can't confirm. My projects require a programmed microcontroller which basically means I will use a transistor as a switch. I'm pretty new to transistors so if I can use one without adding any voltage to the camera circuitry please let me know how. I have a theory but finding info on the net is like drinking from a fire hose and I've yet to find my simple answer.

If I get these properly working I might post details on the projects.

Thanks!

12-15-2015, 09:48 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I'm not an expert in Electronics, but I think I can help.
Yes you can.
A transistor is an electronic switch, the microcontroller can control it with the base (middle leg)? without adding any voltage to the camera.
I am halfway through doing a similar project with an old RF toy control.

PS What microcontroller are you using?
12-15-2015, 09:59 AM   #3

Original Poster
My only worry was that the base voltage would be added. I know it must be added to the emitter because that is ground and otherwise it would be an open circuit. That said, the drop may be enough to not hurt anything. My theory is that I can keep my camera on collector/ emmiter and the completely different control voltage hooked to base/ emmiter. The only thing that makes my usage questionable is using two different circuits and voltages instead of using a common ground.