Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2016, 10:12 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Tripod help

I have been researching which tripod I should get to start out with. Money is a factor....isnt it always. (lol)

It seems some articles say never buy a tripod for under 200$ while others say they are using a Manfrotto 170$ one.

I will be using the tripod mostly for landscape photography and I am a beginner. I have had a Pentax istDL since 05 and have used it for various pics but nothing really creative or professional.
I wanted to get into taking landscape and artistic shots so I upgraded to a K3 with extra battery grip since I have the lenses : 50-200 DA,18-55 Da and a 70-300 Quantaray lens; which I will be saving for a 24mm wide angle lens to add.

I had read that some Ball heads don't seem to hold up a heavier camera and lens. I like the Pan heads but I also figure there is a reason why most cheap tripods come standard with pan heads. I know most of it is personal preference but figured I could get some useful info from some seasoned photographers, whether hobby or pro.

I was sort of leaning towards a Slik Pro 700DX or the 780DX as I want a tall tripod since I am 6'3" and don't feel like bending over all the time. I like this Benro

I already figured on getting a remote to go along with the tripod so I can minimize vibrations.

Any help or insights would be helpful. Thanks

01-10-2016, 10:35 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'm firmly in the "never buy anything under $200 camp". Actually my budget is quite a bit higher than that. I use a Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 with an Acratech Ball head. And I realize that is beyond your stated budget but I wanted to use it as a baseline. Check the weight capacity for that set up, I would consider that to be the minimum I would want to buy.