Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-22-2016, 01:51 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Gossen vs Sekonic light meters- which one should I get ?

I'm looking at getting a new light meter. I have two, both Sekonic. One I bought in '68 for my non metered Pentax S1a, the other a Sekonic L-248 which I bought about 30 years ago to use with my non metered Mamiya 220 Pro F, Leica 11f and various other non metered cameras.

Currently I'm considering the Gossen Sixtomat F2, the Sekonic L 308S-U or the older traditional Sekonic L 398, which is selenium I believe and has the advantage of no battery.

I'm an amateur, who has used light meters, grey cards for almost 50 years. I would use the meter for portraits, still life, indoor and outdoors.

Any thoughts ?

Last edited by lesmore49; 03-22-2016 at 10:36 PM.
03-22-2016, 02:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by lesmore49 Quote
I'm looking at getting a new light meter. I have two, both Sekonic. One I bought in '68 for my non metered Pentax S1a, the other a Sekonic L-248 which I bought about 30 years ago to use with my non metered Mamiya 220 Pro F, Leica 11f and various other non metered cameras.

Currently I'm considering the Goosen Sixtomat F2, the Sekonic L 308S-U or the older traditional Sekonic L 398, which is selenium I believe and has the advantage of no battery.

I'm an amateur, who has used light meters, grey cards for almost 50 years. I would use the meter for portraits, still life, indoor and outdoors.

Any thoughts ?
This is a great meter if you are shooting film:

Gossen Luna-Pro sbc reviews - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database

Phil.
03-22-2016, 02:57 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've owned a number of different Sekonic digital light meters. They were all very reliable.

I always carry extra batteries with my digital light meters.