Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2016, 10:05 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Multiple filter size problem

Folks,

I am new to Pentax and am currently buying lenses that I have shortlisted for my style of shooting. Just discovered that the lenses have the following filter sizes:
1. 49mm (2 lenses)
2. 58mm
3. 62mm
4. 77mm

Now how do I buy filters? One for each size? Or should I just buy one size (which one?) and then have step up / step down filter thread adapters? What is the time - tested way?

BTW I was thinking of the following filters:
1. The ubiquitous UV filter... to protect the lens from accidental touching etc
2. Polarizing filter
3. A couple of grades of neutral density filter

Other than 1 above, I see no reason to buy multiple sizes of 2, 3.

10-07-2016, 10:30 PM - 3 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Protective filters are only of use if you are going into actively hazardous situations where dust and droplets of water will be in contact with your lenses. If used properly, lens hoods and lens caps are perfectly adequate for the purpose of protection. This will cut your costs down, and allow you to focus on getting Polarizers and ND filters - which are more useful anyway.

With Polarizers and neutral density filters, I would suggest that getting one for your widest and/or most commonly used lens to be the most practical way of purchasing one initially - then later buying one that suit your other lenses down the road. I use primes so I have polarizing filters for all of them. Polarizers have reduced utility on longer lenses so prioritize getting one for the wider lenses first. Neutral density filters come in several grades, I'd suggest getting a ND4 and ND8 - because then you can stack them* and further increase the light attenuation.