Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2017, 11:18 PM   #1

K3 | Upgrade to K1? | Sigma lenses - 35 ART 1.4 - 85 1.4?

Hey, all -

So, I have been shooting with a K3 for roughly 2 years. I have been so impressed by the camera that about 6 months ago, I purchased an additional K3 body as a backup.

Recently, my photography business has really started to skyrocket and I'm looking at upgrading to the K1.

For those of you who have shot with both, is the monetary outlay worthwhile? I definitely have an itch for full-frame and would appreciate the vastly superior sensor. With that being said, I want to know if there is going to be a large enough improvement in image quality to justify spending $1,800? A fairly vague question, I know.

I predominantly shoot portraiture, lifestyle, and fashion.

Also, as of now, I shoot predominantly with 2 lenses:

Sigma Art 35 1.4
Sigma 85 1.4

I know both of these lenses may cause a scratch on the body, if not sent in for repair from Sigma.

What I'm more concerned about is compatibility. I've seen that some Sigma lenses cause the K1 to lockup and are essentially rendered useless.

Does anyone have any experience using the K1 with the Sigma 35 art and/or 85 1.4? If so, have you had any issues.

I absolutely adore these lenses so it's vitally important that they function properly.

Thank you!

-Jonny

02-07-2017, 11:33 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I had the 35mm art lens on a k-1. Optically it was awesome. Once i got it dialed in using the usb dock, it also autofocused accurately for the most part (low light was hit and miss). In low light conditions, i often relied on focus peaking and magnification if i had the time. But it really shines on a ff camera.
I only sold it because i had a 31mm already.
02-08-2017, 12:29 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter