Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
05-14-2018, 01:30 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Softbox Suggestions for in the Field.

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Wanting a softbox to attach to my cactus RF60x for in the field use. When not in it's final form it needs to be fairly compact, can be assembled and disassembled easily and of course provides a good even distribution of light with little hot spots.

Should I just grab the Cactus CB60? Cactus CB-60 Foldable Softbox (24 x 24") DICLSTCACCB60 B&H

This one's cheaper and on special; Raya Raya EFS-24 Easy Fold Softbox Set (24 x 24") EFS-24

What's everyones experience with softboxes?

TIA!

Bruce

05-14-2018, 02:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I am no pro but I have accumulated few softboxes in past 6 months. I have continuous light setup. I like the setup where light-fixture is NOT attached to fabric. Also the fixture should have multiple sockets, fuse and at least more than one switch. This package has covers all the above. When I made my first purchase, I did not know this.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008B8IU82/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s05?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Multi-socket fixture can be purchased alone. This comes with fuse and multiple switches.
https://www.amazon.com/LimoStudio-Socket-Photo-Adapter-AGG882/dp/B0091HO0FY/...4+light+socket

I do have single light fixture and made it multi as follows. When you have single socket, you end up paying for high-wattage bulb.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06ZXWRDWT/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have stands made of both plastic and steel. Like the steel ones.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073WVJ7C7/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s02?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Umbrella style softboxes