Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-25-2018, 01:31 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Graduated ND Filter

Anyone use a graduated ND filter for their landscape work? I'm keen to try one (instead of using a cpl), this would mainly be for the intention of panorama style work whereby using a cpl might not be the best strategy. Anyone using a graduated ND filter? If so what kind, what stop should I be looking for?

TIA!

Bruce

06-25-2018, 01:39 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I use square Colin p filters, very happy with the results and they're affordable; you can also find higher end glass ones instead of resin. I don't see losses in resolution with the k3ii and 16-85. I have a 2 stop hard edge and a 3 stop soft. I'm no expert, but I can tell it'd quite restrictive to not be able to move the filter, as is the case with screw on types.
06-25-2018, 01:55 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by aaacb Quote
I use square Colin p filters, very happy with the results and they're affordable; you can also find higher end glass ones instead of resin. I don't see losses in resolution with the k3ii and 16-85. I have a 2 stop hard edge and a 3 stop soft. I'm no expert, but I can tell it'd quite restrictive to not be able to move the filter, as is the case with screw on types.
Ah yes, a screw on one and you have to shoot pretty much 50% sky 50% land huh. Good point.
06-26-2018, 02:22 AM - 1 Like   #4

I stopped using grad nd's a good while ago, with modern software and camera sensors, especially the K1's I either take one exposure, exposing for the highlights and lifting the shadows in post or I simply bracket a few exposures and combine in post. I personally think grad nd's are just an aging piece of equipment clinging onto the modern era.

06-26-2018, 02:50 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums