Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-31-2018, 07:44 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Thoughts on ND filters?

I've never used one...

But realized that 49mm is the magic filter size across all my lenses (aside from the DA*300 of course...)
I figured it's time to invest in something that is versatile across multiple lenses and may actually improve my landscape photography.

Plus, it's another thing to learn how to use and challenging myself is part of the fun!

Any suggestions for a total newbie?!

I heard people either love or hate the variable ND filters...
I think I'll fall towards the dislike category just based on what I've read thus far.

Any recommendation on brand?

I don't know if I'm ready to drop $150 on an X4 ND-6 stop filter. Unless that's recognized as the best of the best and there's no reason to get anything else?

Let me know if you use one, what brand, what stop level, and if you think they're really worth the fuss!

08-31-2018, 07:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I have some b&w filters. pretty good.
i'd recommend buying a 6 stop and a 3stop.
when stacked that is 9..
during day, you need that. in morning/evening 6 or 3 alone may do.
08-31-2018, 07:58 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

My thoughts are that they are expensive enough to quench my interest. However, I am curious to seen what other users say regarding price/quality trade-offs and what pitfalls may exist.

Steve
08-31-2018, 08:06 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
My thoughts are that they are expensive enough to quench my interest. However, I am curious to seen what other users say regarding price/quality trade-offs and what pitfalls may exist.

Steve
right!
People must be buying them at $150 otherwise they wouldn't be in business...

I see that and think, "Ok, what am I missing here..."

08-31-2018, 08:07 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster