Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2008, 06:16 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Bellows and exrension tubes??

As a noob I have been flying through the internet gathering data. As I was satiating my LBA I saw a few people selling macro lenses with bellows, and people selling extension tubes. My question is, what are their purposes? If I buy a macro lens do I need (desire) bellows or extension tubes? I am just curious.

10-01-2008, 07:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

You can certainly use extension tubes/bellows with a macro lens -- it'll just get you that much more macro

When deciding between tubes or a bellows, tubes are a whack more durable and rigid than a bellows, the trade off for macro work being that you'd have a fixed amount of extension. For walkabout you'd definitely want tubes that you can add/remove at will and not worry about damaging. For home/studio/still work a bellows will be indispensable since most have a tripod mount and will let you fine tune your focal length depending on the subject.

Tubes will usually be cheaper but either way, pick something up, you won't be disappointed!
10-01-2008, 09:14 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'll throw my vote in on a true Macro lens (not a "macro" zoom, but something that gets down to at least 1/2 life size on the sensor or film). I have an old M 100 and with a 50mm extension tube it works from 1/2 to 1/1 life size on the sensor. I also use the tube to focus my M 400 closer than 5 metres (16.5 feet). The bellows are more useful for studio work than field work.

[Edit] I forgot to mention that with the bellows you generally lose all connection between the lens and the camera. This makes exposure and focus more difficult.

Last edited by Canada_Rockies; 10-01-2008 at 09:16 PM. Reason: [Edit] note.
10-01-2008, 09:48 PM   #4

Original Poster