Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
04-06-2019, 07:41 PM   #1

Cheap kit to get started with Macro photography

Dear Pentaxians - Need some advice on a starter kit for Macro photography. I am a hobbyist who is keen to try Macro photography. I don’t own currently a macro lens. I did some research and it seems that Pentax (or any 3rd party) does not make tubes with AF. Which is mostly fine as I anyways find auto focus to be quite unreliable for Macro work. But what I do need is an extension which alllows for aperture adjustment as only one lens in my current kit has an aperture ring - the 77 mm ltd, which I don’t want to use for Macro work. So it seems that I have 3 options:

1. Get a tube which allows for apperature adjustment
2. Get an old manual lens with an aperture ring and a tube
3. Buy an converter for one my lenses (50 mm 1.8) and a matching tube

Can someone please help me understand pros and cons of each and suggest lens/tube for the preferred option.

04-06-2019, 08:07 PM   #2
Pentaxian

The close up filters may be an option for you. That's what I started with. Inexpensive way to test macro out.
04-06-2019, 08:20 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A Raynox macro adaptor is probably the cheapest option. I am consistently surprised by the quality of the images I see from them.
I have a set of Kenko auto-aperture extension rings. They were cheap, and work well.
For critical macro work, auto focus is quite unnecessary. So an old manual lens is fine.
A reversing adaptor for an old manual 28mm prime is another good option.

But a macro lens is far more versatile. The older (K, M, A) 50mm and 100mm versions can be had quite cheaply (<US$200).
04-06-2019, 08:46 PM   #4
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Sandy Hancock Quote