Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-15-2019, 01:44 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Need help with Filter Systems

I'm looking at trying square format filters mostly for ND grads. I'm still pretty new at this so I'm not looking to spend a huge chunk of money on it (yet). At the moment, I've been looking at the Cokin P series because they mostly fit the lenses I have and are still pretty inexpensive. I had read that P filters will vignette on lenses over 20mm FF equivalent which leads to a problem because I like to use a Sigma 10-20. This means that if I want to use the Cokin on that lens, I can't use focal lengths under 15mm? Just for reference, I plan on using this on a Sigma 10-20/3.5, *16-50/2.8, and maybe a Sigma 28/1.8 and an A24-50/4 if I ever decide to use it. (Oh, and a *11-18 instead of the 10-20 if I win the Grand Prize.)

I've also noticed that Formatt has a filter system in my range as well but it's more expensive. I'm just not sure which system I'd rather go for at the moment. I've found some online ads for a Cokin P system with adapters and a bunch of filters for $60 and a Formatt-Hitech holder and some adapters for $100. In terms of price, I'm leaning towards the Cokin but I'm not sure if I'd find it better for me in terms of durability, utility and, essentially, quality. I think I read that the Formatt is a modular holder? Whereas the Cokin P isn't modular but the L Z-Pro is. Would the L Z-Pro be better? I'm very hesitant to start out at the 100mm filters because of cost. I have more questions but I think they'll have to wait.

Also, just a funny question. Has anyone used a square filter with the 40 Limited? I'd love to see what that set up looks like

10-15-2019, 01:53 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by MikeyBugs95 Quote