Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-15-2019, 06:29 PM   #1

Pentax K3 and AF-540FGZ combo question

Hello all! I'm new to the forum, however I've been shooting with Pentax DSLR's since 2007. I currently shoot with a K3. About 99% of the time I shoot with available light, however every couple of years an occasion pops up where I need to break out my AF-540FGZ flash. Usually it is for indoors on a photography backdrop, so I have the ability to set things up ahead of the shoot and make sure my settings are good. However, even though I eventually get nice results, I'm frustrated that it feels a little bit like poke-and-hope because I don't fully understand which setting (camera vs flash) is doing what.

I'm also now wrestling with wanting to use my flash as a fill flash for outdoor portraits in the daylight. From the research I've done, it seems that if the conditions are bright I'm going to need to have the flash set to high speed sync, set my camera to manual exposure to make the background what I want, have my flash on TTL, and manually adjust the exposure compensation of the flash to get the results I'm looking for on the subject.
Does that sound about right?

Also: There are flash control settings on the K3, and also on the flash itself. Am I correct in assuming that the controls on the flash unit override the camera controls? (meaning: if I put the camera on trailing curtain sync but the flash is on leading curtain sync, it'll shoot leading curtain?)

10-15-2019, 06:34 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jadeddo Quote
if I put the camera on trailing curtain sync but the flash is on leading curtain sync, it'll shoot leading curtain?
Yes...nothing better than trial and error - experiment and see the results right away - its all digital
.... and by the way welcome to the forums....
10-16-2019, 01:29 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter