Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-23-2008, 07:23 AM   #1
Forum Member

AF-540 FGZ look alike

I'm new to photography and i would like to buy a flash, i know that the Pentax AF-540 FGZ would be ideal but the prize is a little more then what i could afford...

the price of the AF-360 FGZ is more of what price i would pay....

What is the real difference between the two and is there another brand that i could possibly check for a 540 FGZ look alike but in a more lower price

Thanks

10-23-2008, 07:35 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The big differences between the AF360 and AF540 is that the latter is more powerful, and its head swivels (very handy when you want to bounce when shooting in the "portrait"/vertical orientation).

The Sigma EF530 DG SUPER is an inexpensive alternative. It supports P-TTL, wireless triggerring via the K10D/K20D's pop-up flash, tilts and swivels, and is about as powerful as the AF540. It costs about the same as the AF360.

Compared to the AF540, it lacks an "Auto" mode (also called "thrystor"), and its built quality is not as good.

Metz also makes P-TTL compatible flashes, but I'm not familiar with them.
10-23-2008, 08:53 AM   #3
Veteran Member

With mets you can get the 48 model which swivels and bounces but has no auto mode or the 58 model (more powerful with auto mode). They should cost less than Pentax flashes.

If you are just starting and want to go the full manual way, you can pickup old thyristor flash for something like $20 (fleabay or thrift store) and use it in manual mode. I have two flashes like that and they work fine. You just have to make sure that the voltage is safe.
10-23-2008, 09:36 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by drabina Quote
With mets you can get the 48 model which swivels and bounces but has no auto mode or the 58 model (more powerful with auto mode). They should cost less than Pentax flashes.