Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-28-2020, 10:59 AM - 1 Like   #1

PLEASE HELP this newbie!! Accessories needed for this Reception Hall

Hello,

My sister has asked my teenaged kids and I to play photographer at her wedding reception . I have little experience with indoor photography on my Pentax K-S2. What accessories would be best forthis reception hall? It's out of town so I won't be able to visit ahead of time, but it's got a mix of brick and white walls, tall ceilings, and it looks like a wall of windows. The only lens I currently own is a Pentax-DA 1:2.4 35mm AL

(I've already told her that the pictures will turn out less than professional and she is okay with that. But I'm willing to invest some money in the camera to be able to get better indoor shots at the event and in the future.)

Thank you so much for any guidance!

Magee

01-28-2020, 11:11 AM   #2
Custom User Title
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I'd suggest you get the DA 50mm f/1.8 for a tighter focal length and faster aperture.
I might also suggest getting a AF360FGZ flash off-camera with either a cable or cactus triggers.
Practice shooting portraits (single and group) before the event!
01-28-2020, 11:32 AM - 5 Likes   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I get asked this from time to time. My answer is always no.
01-28-2020, 11:57 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by pschlute Quote
Ditto. In part because weddings are definitely NOT the sort of gig I enjoy. It is also in part because don't feel I have
the correct gear to do the gig well and/or as expected.

If you don't feel you can do this gig justice then I think you would be doing yourself and your sister a big service by
declining. BUT, if you are keen and anxious to give it a try, then I think you need to have a serious discussion with your