Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2008, 10:03 AM   #1

How to carry the camera around

Hi,

As a new owner of a K200D(moved in from smaller ultra zoom cameras) I have a question to you all,
How do you carry the camera during a field trip or a hike?

I am used to go out with my small kids (which requires my hands to be free to help them around) and until now I used a belt pouch for a quick draw and shoot.

This is a little more complex with the larger DSLR.

All thoughts and Ideas are welcome.
Thank, Alon.

11-13-2008, 10:12 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
There are a couple solutions for you:

1-Carry the camera around your neck where it belings :P (many veterans love to say that... not that I'm a veteran)

2-get a sturdy monopod that you can use as a walking stick, and place the camera there

3-Get a sling bag (sort of backpack with only one strap). Probably the best solution in this case

4-get a holster-type belt pouch. It's going to be pretty large, though.

5-Get a messenger-type bag (that's what I use most of the time, but it's not the best solution for hikes)

6-Get a small shoulder bag that accomodates only your K20D (that's what I do when the messenger bag is too large for the hike).

I hope this helps!
11-13-2008, 10:20 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Another thought...get a beltpack big enough to accomodate your DSLR + lens, plus 1-2 more lenses. I've got a beltpack on my Christmas wish list and having used one before, it's a great solution because your hands are free and the weight of the camera sits on your hips, as opposed to your neck or shoulder. Here are a couple of popular beltpack options:

Lowepro - Inverse 100 AW
(check out lowepro.com, as they got a pretty decent selection of beltpacks besides this one)

Tenba - Shootout: Waistpack

HTH,
Heather
11-13-2008, 10:58 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would agree with heather on this one.