Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2008, 09:30 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Alienbees CyberSync Radio Triggers

I’ve been using the AlienBee CyberSync’s for about 5-6 months now and thought I would share my thoughts as there is limited information out there for these little buggers, and a while back I said I would.

Paul Buff and his Company: I think I’ll open this mini review with the experience I had purchasing the Cybersyncs. I ordered them online, and it automatically gave me an expected ship date. No problemo. The next day I get a call from customer service, they wanted to let me know that due to some error they would ship a day later, a single day, than what they had told me. A real person called me, not an email, not a recorded message, some places wouldn’t even let you know that there is a slight shipping delay. I don’t care about the delay and I’m very impressed that they would actually give me a quick call to let me know, speaks volumes about the company, to me at least.

The CyberSyncs:

In the Box: Both items come packaged in small/simple boxes. The transmitter comes with a button battery installed and a short cable to connect it to a PC port. The receiver also comes packaged with a longer (4') mini plug to PC cable.

Size/Build Quality/Initial Impressions: I’ve briefly used Pocket Wizards before, and had a chance to handle them so I had a baseline to compare size. These Cybersyncs are TINY. Which I really like. The transmitter is quite unobtrusive compared to the PW’s. The CS receiver is larger but still a good size considering the application. Most of it’s bulk is taken up by the 2 AA batteries it houses(the transmitter runs off of a button cell).