Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-28-2007, 06:36 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
AF-540 problem?

Hello from a new user, although I've been watching for a while.

I've been shoting with my K10D for the last two months, love that camera, but now I've taken the step to get my first proper flash, a AF-540 FGZ. I got it monday evening, and played a bit with it. Worked perfectly as long as I gave some thought into where I pointed it.

However, and here's my problem, today I too it out of the pouch and attached it to my K10D. Turned it on. *beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep* (sounding almost like a buzzer), and no zoom head movement. The flash takes about 6 or 7 seconds to turn on now (time until the display becomes functional) and the zoom setting just blinks "16mm" and it seems to be locked on "m zoom". Also, the 'zoom' button on the flash doesn't do anything. (It's an FA lens I'm using and the camera is registering zoom setting just fine, so I don't think it's the lens). Oh, and it's the same thing if I turn it on off-camera.

Am I doing something wrong, or has my zoom head jammed? Or do you all-knowing gurus have other suggestions?

Edit: Forgot to mention that pulling out the wide angle panel doesn't do squat. On monday, the zoom head would move when I did that.

03-28-2007, 06:45 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I seem to remember somebody else having this problem, you might want to do a search of the forum, but I think they ended up returning the flash and getting a new one.
03-28-2007, 07:12 AM   #3

Original Poster
SUCCESS!

I did a search on the forum and it seems I'm not alone. One suggested hitting it on the side to free it up. Tried it and presto, zoom head is working again :-D

Thanks alot, I should have done a search first before asking.
03-28-2007, 12:02 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums